Shaking out of my stupor and getting back to work.

Yeah, I know.

But I have a decent excuse, honest.

Actually, I have more then one.

First off, the Labyrinthitis threw me for a loop more then I expected. While I didn’t have an attack as bad as the initial one that sent me to the ER, it did put the zap on my head enough that I didn’t feel like blogging. So I kind of let it kind of slide.
Also, I got sidetracked with working on a workable first draft for my next short, tentatively titled “The Art of The Post-Kill Quip”. I still have a few problems with the script that I need to work out in the next draft. But the premise and basic structure are sound. Hopefully, I can have it in shape to start sending out to actors within the next couple of weeks.
Also…and I can’t believe I’m writing this…I’m opening up a new YouTube channel.  Long time readers of this blog may remember that I shit canned my old YouTube channel because of…well, this article from August 4, 2010 from the New York Times should explain why

WASHINGTON — Google and Verizon, two leading players in Internet service and content, are nearing an agreement that could allow Verizon to speed some online content to Internet users more quickly if the content’s creators are willing to pay for the privilege.
The charges could be paid by companies, like YouTube, owned by Google, for example, to Verizon, one of the nation’s leading Internet service providers, to ensure that its content received priority as it made its way to consumers. The agreement could eventually lead to higher charges for Internet users.
Such an agreement could overthrow a once-sacred tenet of Internet policy known as net neutrality, in which no form of content is favored over another. In its place, consumers could soon see a new, tiered system, which, like cable television, imposes higher costs for premium levels of service.

Needless to say, I stamped my feet, yelled “FUCK YOOOOOOUUU!!!” to the heavens and consigned my channel to the the digital version of The River Styx.
But now that the FCC has reclassified The Internet as a Title II Utility and for the moment, keeping the series of tubes running at equal speeds. (And coupled with the fact that the tip jars on my videos at Vimeo are remaining stubbornely untipped.) I’ve decided to give YouTube another chance. This time, with a monetized account.  I’m not gonna lie. I’m some what wary of going down this route. But I need to get the work out there. And with the money I got from my mom’s estate dimishing from both the ER visit and this year’s Student Loan payments. I’m gonna have to roll the dice so I can replenish the coffers.
So the new program is that I will be crossposting all my shorts to both Vimeo and YouTube while also creating new content specifically for YouTube.  What that new content will be is still unsettled.
But the brain is churning.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in Comedy Short, filmmaking, Money issues., My personal Videos, Personal Stuff, Vimeo Channel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

