Fight (for) the Future.

Well…On the plus side…
The new camera has been ordered and is set to arrive on Tuesday.
The time off for my vacation has been approved. I will be going to Seattle on the 20th.
The night before, I have the staged reading at Paschal Winery so I’ll have a chance to see how “Glengarry Glen Styx” plays in front of a live audience. And then when I get back on the 27th, I can start preproduction on the short in ernest.
On the minus side…
As I write this, we are less then 24 hours away from a government shutdown unless John Boehner suddenly grows enough spine to put a clean CR bill up for a vote in the House. And frankly, given recent history, the odds of Boehner’s spinal infusion are roughly the same as Scarlet Johansson showing up on my doorstep in her Black Widow catsuit.
And heaven help me, at this point, I prefer the the clean CR vote.

And honestly, at this point, would we even have enough votes to pass it. Heed the words of Lance Mannion.

And to top things off, this is the week I run out of St. John’s Wort.

If there is an upside to this, with the country seeing with it’s own damn eyes The GOP turning feral, people may finally realize that Government isn’t the problem. It’s voting for people who think Government is the problem that’s the problem!
And that means comes the midterms, we can get the House back and build up The Senate.
And for those who think I’m being partisan about this, let me remind you, I’m from the United States of whatever works. I’m standing on the Democratic side because at this point, I think they’ll do less damage.
As I’ve said before, I play the fucking percentages.
The downside of that upside is that between now and the midterms, a lot of people are going to get hurt.
And that, more then anything, breaks my heart.
In the meantime, I will go on. I take my vacation. I’ll shoot the short. I will continue to push my book.
I will continue on.
I will refuse to fear the future.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in great depression 2.0, Personal Stuff, Politics, Rep. John Boehner, Republicans shooting themseves in the foot and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

