Student Loan! Schumdent Loan!

After what has been a stressful couple of weeks here at Chez Jensen, I got some unadulterated good news on Friday Morning.
For the last few weeks, on top of every Goddamned thing else that’s been going on, I’ve been looking down the barrel of a spike in my student loan payments from $308 to $391 due to my period of income sensitive repayment ending.  This had been hanging over my head for months so finally Friday morning, (And it had to be in the morning due to my crazy Lestat-like work schedule.) I called SallieMae to see if I could refinance the loan at a lower interest rate. (Right now, my rate is 7.875%.)
Well, the first thing that happened when I talked to the guy handling my call was that he lowered the payment to $320.44 a month on the spot.
Seriously, you could have knocked me over with a North Korean gymnast.
He then said that I could not get the loan refinanced but he could send me an application for income sensitive repayment (Which again, I thought I was no longer eligible for and even said so.) and possible debt forgiveness.
Again. Seriously. Knocked over. Gymnast.
So, I still have to pay three twenty a month and it’s a bite.  But it ain’t three ninety one. And there’s a chance I could still get this thing off my back somewhere in my life time. (Flying Spaghetti Monster willing and if the Co2 levels don’t rise.)
So, for the moment, I’m taking the win.
About this time last year, I honestly thought I was

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in Money issues., Personal Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

