Update on The Mole on my shoulder. (Warning: Pictures of a medical nature follow.)

Okay, here’s the skinny.
Went to Ashland Family Practice today to have the mole checked out. Now Dr. Christlieb wasn’t available so I was examined by Dr. Cindy Parks, the nurse practitioner.  And the prognosis was that given that it sprang up suddenly and the edges were blurred that it had to be removed for a bioposy.
Needless to say, this is not how I wanted to spend my wednesday afternoon.
However, since I do not take things on blind faith, I went ahead and gave consent.
(Also needless to say, I’m not looking forward to the eventual bills that are going to come out of this. But I’m hoping that all I have to pay for is the bioposy now and not Chemo later.)

The Mole was removed with an oval shaped incision so that when it was sown up, the skin wouldn’t pucker. I’m happy to report that thanks to a good local anesthetic, the process was reasonably painless.

IMG_0521And of course, I did try to remind myself of the old adage, “Chicks dig scars”. (“Yeah, that’s  when I had a raised mole removed but it came back benign so it’s all good, baby. Now lay some sugar on me…”)

IMG_0519

 

That’s the little bugger above.  I should know in a few days whether or not it’s benign. The good news is that there’s no family history of Melanoma.  So I’ve got that going for me.
(And yes, apparently I am the sort of asshole who takes photos of his medical procedures and posts then on his blog.  Welcome to the 21st century, bitches!  This is how we roll.)
So, fingers crossed and I should know more in a few days

 

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in Health Care, Personal Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

