J.J. Abrams directing “Star Wars”? Okay…

I’m late to the party on this.  (And a lot of other things including a “Listmaking” post.  But I’m trying to get back in the groove so bear with me.) But I do have to chime in about the news that J.J. Abrams is directing the next “Star Wars” movie.
I’m fine with that.
You could make the argument that it’s a sad state of affairs that Lucas isn’t more fully involved with the new film.  But that argument only works if you were in a coma between 1999 and 2005.  Personally, I have no problem with him consulting on the projects as long as he doesn’t talk to the actors.
And I’m generally predisposed to Mr. Abrams.  I thought his “Mission Impossible:III” bought the franchise back to life after the scrambled mess that that was “MI:II”. (Also, good for him on whatever input he had on “MI:GP”.)
Not to mention bringing back “Star Trek” from The Undiscovered Country that  was the tail end of the Rick Berman area.
Of course, if you had told me twenty-two years ago that the guy who wrote “Regarding Henry” would go on to make a “Star Wars” movie, I’d be temped to take a swing at your coconut. (Hey, we all have our bad days.  Woody Allen made “September”.)
So, yeah. Abrams doing “Star Wars”.  I’ll try that chocolate in my Peanut Butter.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in Movies, The Geekness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

