My thoughts on the “Pacific Rim” trailer.

Honestly, my only thought while watching this thing was “SQUEEEEEEEEEEE!!!”.
Let me see if I can expand on that original reaction.
-This is one of those rare trailers that seems designed to completely bypass every adult defense mechanism and go straight for the part of the brain that is still twelve years old.  It’s like someone took every old episode of “Ultraman”, “The Space Giants” and “Johnny Sokko and His Flying Robot” and slammed them into a duck press. If the studio is smart, they’ll include with each ticket a pair of footy pajamas and a big bowl of Honeycombs.
(And yes, I am over sharing chunks of my childhood.  Thank you for asking.)

-Can I just point out how awesome it is that this is a film made by a Mexican Director for an American Studio with help from an Australian company using a genre created and made popular by the Japanese. This is multiculturalism at it’s finest.  STICK THAT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT, PAT BUCHANAN!

-There is nothing in the world that can kill a post trailer high like a bunch of persnickity nerds who feel the need to fart in the direction of pure awesome.
Here are some of the complaints I’ve seen so far.

I was expecting more Monster on Robot violence.

It’s a two and a half minute trailer and you can only show so much. Knowing  Guillermo Del Toro’s love of monsters, I’m sure there will be much more.  He’s showing just enough to write the check.  I am quite certain he has enough funds to cash it.

They had the computer voice from the “Portal” games in the trailer. It took me right out.

Yes, it seems that Ellen McLain who does the voice of everyone’s favorite murderous AI, GLaDOS is indeed lending her vocal talents to the film. I for one, was more tickled than distracted. And I am almost certain that Del Toro may find a way to fit in a companion cube somewhere.

They used those annoying “Inception” horns in the trailer. I hate those.

Yes.  People who make trailers tend to fall back on successful…You know what? Fuck the horns!
GIANT FUCKING ROBOTS ARE FIGHTING GIANT FUCKING MONSTERS!!! WHO GIVES A FLYING FUCK ABOUT THE HORNS????
SERIOUSLY? DO YOU NERDS NOT SEE AWESOMENESS WHEN IT SLAPS YOU IN THE FACE WITH IT’S NINE INCH DICK??  ARRGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sorry…just had to get that out of my system.
But seriously, we’re getting a kick ass monster movie from Guillermo Del Toro. Stop being whiny bitches about it.
You know, This is why girls won’t talk to you.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in Movies, The Geekness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

