Biden Vs Ryan or “Go home and get your f@%$ing shinebox!”

Technically, I’m still on vacation. (Although it’s the stay at home portion.) So I’m keeping this as short as possible.

-Blessed be Joe Biden.  While Obama let Romney run the table last week, Romney stomped on Ryan with the Steel Toed Boots of facts and managed to project confidence and gravitas all while practically laughing in Ryan’s face.
The sad fact is that Obama is hyper aware that there a portion of the electorate that will scream “Angry Black Man” if he so much as raises an eyebrow. Not to mention that he just too much of a unifier to relish an argument.  He is a Gelfling and damn it, he will shove that shard into The Dark Crystal!
Biden on the other hand is an Irish Politician. And one thing about you have to understand the Irish. We don’t need a reason to have an argument, we just need a topic.

-Kudos to Martha Raddazt for actually showing up  and actually moderating the damn debate. (As opposed to Jim Lehrer who got worked over by Romney like a hobo facing a pack of Droogs. If he has any self-awareness, he would have spent the entire VP debate whipping himself with a cat o’nine tails for penance.) However, I do have to call bullshit on the last two questions.  The one about the tone and the other about religion.
The only time I’ve ever heard people complain about the tone in Washington is when Democrats try to defend themselves against the Republicans. Case in point.  When Romney was steam rolling over Lehrer and Obama, he was called manly and decisive.  When Biden calls out Ryan for having shoddy math and knowing nothing about Foreign Policy, he’s rude.
When someone has their boot on someone else’s neck, it is bad form to lecture them both on civility.
The other was her last question about religion.

 

MS. RADDATZ: I want to move on, and I want to return home for these last few questions. This debate is indeed historic. We have two Catholic candidates, first time on a stage such as this, and I would like to ask you both to tell me what role your religion has played in your own personal views on abortion. Please talk about how you came to that decision. Talk about how your religion played a part in that.

Now thankfully, Biden used the opportunity to say that he would not impose his religious beliefs on anyone in the matter of abortion. And that had to help fire up the base.
But it was a question that took up real estate away from other topics like Climate Change (Which I have yet to hear from any of the debates and we need to have that conversation fast!) And I believe that it’s besides the point.
I don’t really care if you believe in God and what form He or She takes.  I am an Atheist and do not share that belief.  And because I am an easy going cat, I have no desire to convert you to my point of view. I have known Christians who are sweet and awesome and I have known some I wouldn’t walk across the street to piss on them if they were on fire and had a urine fetish.
Don’t tell me what you believe. Tell me what you would do! If I’m hungry and you feed me, I’m not going to care if God told you to feed me or not. I would say thank you and please pass the salt. If you use God as an excuse to murder somebody for not sharing your belief, guess what?  You’re an asshole.  And if I believed in your God, I’d call him/her an asshole too. You talk about policies and leave the beliefs  to your form of clergy.
(I would however put an asterisk next to guys who for religious reasons believe that Climate Change doesn’t exist, Evolution  is a fraud and the Earth is 9000 years old. When you’re facing a possible extinction level event, “Don’t worry.  God will save us” is NOT AN ACCEPTABLE ANSWER!!)

-And finally, let me say a couple of thing to Fox News about this whole “Biden was drunk the whole time” meme you’re pushing.
One: Unless you have photos of Biden chugging a bottle of Jamisons backstage before the debate, you might want to double-check with your lawyers about libel laws.
Two: Even if were true, you would be essentially saying that Paul Ryan got into an argument with a drunk AND LOST!
Trust me, that does you no favors.
Or as Nate Ford once put it, “Everyone bemoans the alcoholism but nobody celebrates the functioning.”

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in 2012 Election, Joe Biden, Mitt Romney, Paul Ryan, Republicans shooting themseves in the foot. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

