BLOG FILLER: Mel Brooks and New “Dredd” Trailer.

Still working through my sudden chemical aversion to writing about politics. However, this has caused me to neglect the blog for the past week.
So what the hell, here’s a quick streaming Netflix recommendation and trailer review to tide us both over until I can get my hands on some damn St. John’s Wort.

HIGH ANXIETY: (1977: Directed by Mel Brooks.)

Mel Brooks’ Borsht Belt ribbing of Alfred Hitchcock isn’t the best film he ever made. (“Blazing Saddles” and “Young Frankenstein” continue to duke it out for first place in the Steel Cage that is my heart.) But it’s a perfectly enjoyable laugh extractor. If there’s a problem with the film, it’s that it feels reined in by both the PG rating and Brooks’ attempts to copy Hitchcock’s hermetic style. (If there was ever an opportunity to slip in a strap-on dildo gag, the Cloris Leachman/Harvey Korman story line was it.) But film fans will enjoy the in-jokes. (Even if the “Psycho” gag is ruined by a terribly shrill performance by Barry Levinson as an angry bellboy.) The standouts being the Lecture (“Well, let’s just say for the sake of argument cocky doody.”), Brooks show stopping song and the airport scene that you could almost drop into a straight thriller.
Nerd bonus: Albert Whitlock does the matte paintings and visual effects which he also did for Hitchcock for years.

The one thing that sticks out for me in this news Dredd trailer? Dredd saying “I’m the Law”.
Now I’m not claiming to be an expert on the subject of Judge Dredd. But I do remember when the first pass with Stallone came out in the mid-nineties, a friend telling me that Dredd  has two big lines in the comic series. “I’ll be the Judge of that!” and “I AM THE LAW!”.
“I’m the Law”  frankly sounds kind of wimpy.
“Hey there, nice to meet you. I’m the Law.”
“Hope you enjoy your stay.  If you need anything, just remember, I’m the Law.”
“Welcome to Wal-Mart. I’m your greeter, the law.”
You see the point.  “I’m the Law” is kind of namby pamby for a Bad Ass with a sizable personal armory.
On the other hand, “I AM THE LAW!” coupled with a large portable cannon makes for sudden and decisive loss of bladder and bowel control.
Lesson learned? Contractions are not always our friend.
(Punctuation is important. As our friend Derek Sheen reminds us, there’s a difference between “Let’s eat, Grandma” and Let’s eat Grandma”.)
As for the rest of the trailer, I don’t know.
I like the cast.  And I love the fact that Karl Urban is still getting action leads despite having the worst luck with them. (“Doom” must have looked good on paper. Pity the final version made me want to chew out my own eyeballs.) I’m still iffy on Olivia Thirby as a action side kick. (Although she does a very fetching kick to the head.) But Lena Headey as a drug dealing bringer of doom strikes me as fine and dandy.
Color me interested.  But they really do need to redub that line.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in Movies, The Geekness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

