Personal Updates and a few quick words about Ted Nugent.

-I just got my award letter from the Community Care program over at Ashland Community Hospital and the news is good.
They were able to shave off 60%percent of my ER Bill and I now owe only about 587 dollars.
Now I still have to pay $98 dollars a month.  It’s a pinch but it’s doable if I cut back on everything that can be considered fun. (Which means I will be dodging “Cabin in the Woods” spoilers for the next several months until it hits home video. Thank you, Internet Culture.)

-On the E-Book.  I still have not heard back from Smashwords about being accepted into the premium catalog.  I did go back to the original manuscript and found a couple of errors that I fixed.  I then uploaded the corrected version so I’m hoping that speeds the process along.
I also got feed back from a friend who bought the book direct from the site. And he said that part of the problem I may be having with low sales is that you have to sign up for an on-line account with Smashwords to make a purchase. And some people may be uncomfortable with that.
(The irony is that I get an extra twenty cents per unit if you buy direct from the site as opposed to buying from an affiliate.)
To everyone uncomfortable with that, I do apologize and as soon as it’s accepted, I will post those links.

-Two quick things about the recent Ted Nugent unpleasantness.
One: I must respectfully disagree with Lawrence O’Donnell who on his segment yesterday talked about this statement from the Motor City Madman… Bold type mine.

If you want more of those kinds of evil anti-American people in the Supreme Court, then don’t get involved and let Obama take office again,” he said to an approving crowd at the NRA convention. “Because I’ll tell you this right now: If Barack Obama becomes the president in November, again, I will either be dead or in jail by this time next year. . . .

“But if you can’t go home and get everybody in your lives to clean house in this vile, evil, America-hating administration, I don’t know what you’re made of. If you can’t galvanize and promote and recruit people to vote for Mitt Romney, we’re done. We’ll be a suburb of Indonesia next year. . . .

Now Mr. O’Donnell interpreted this statement (1:45 into the video.) to mean that Mr. Nugent assumed that he would be either dead or in jail because of an assassination attempt on President Obama.
And with all due respect to the usually meticulous Mr. O’Donnell, I think he’s taking a giant leap here.
He never explicitly said he was going to murder President Obama.  I took the statement to mean that he believes he’s going to be either murdered or arrested by government thugs because he’s a gun toting bad ass who won’t shut up.
Now I totally understand why O’Donnell would jump to that conclusion.  After all, the man did once invite the President to suck on his machine gun. And he did also add this at the end.
“Our president, and attorney general, our vice president, Hillary Clinton, they’re criminals, they’re criminals. And if you take that adamant ‘we the people’ defiance, remember we’re Americans because we defied the king. We didn’t negotiate and compromise with the king, we defied the emperors. We are patriots, we are bravehearts. We need to ride into that battlefield and chop their heads off in November.”
Seriously, Post Gabby Giffords, you do not want to be talking about chopping people’s heads off.  Even if meant in cheerful hyperbole.
At the same time, we need to be careful about the charges we level at others.  Ted Nugent may be a hysterical jack-ass. But that doesn’t mean we have to get hysterical ourselves.
-The other part about the Ted Nugent thing that troubles me is the idea that Mitt Romney allegedly listens to Ted Nugent!
Mitt Romney, a man who looks like he was born wearing a Brooks Brothers suit, A man who has the spontaneity of a Space Shuttle launch, a man who could accidently eat his lower lip doing the White Man’s overbite is a fan of gutbucket rock!
Compared to that, Obama being a secret Muslim makes more sense.
This is pandering of the highest level.  Romney knows that he can’t connect with the middle-class so he’s going to woo the proletariat by pretending to like their music. As if he’s got a “Damn Yankees” T-Shirt buried under a pile of ascots.
To hell with his taxes.  I say we audit his record collection.  Go through his iPod with a fine tooth comb.
Trust me. You find that he has anything that rocks harder than Pat Boone’s “No More Mr. Nice Guy”, I will die from shock.
Call me when David Lee Roth makes an endorsement.  Then we’ll have a horse race!
About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in 2012 Election, E-Book, Health Care, Mitt Romney, Personal Stuff, Right wing Idiots, Ted Nugent. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

