SEATTLE BITCHES!! Sunday and Monday

SUNDAY: The open mike day was began low key with me finishing up a couple bits on the routine.  Specifically, one word on a bit.

How do you run with an anti blowjow campaign?  It’s like running against puppies and rainbows and…

The original last word was magic.  But Jake pointed out to me when I showed him the bit on Saturday, I was missing an opportunity to make a small internal joke. (Thank you Magic Rule of Three.)  And we spent a good chunk of the morning, pitching each other possible ideas for the third word.  Finally settling on…Well, you’ll just have to wait for the video.  He also pitched me an alternate punchline
After that, we treated ourselves to a screening of “Road House” which we spent marveling at the incredible creepiness of Kevin Tighe (Which I still contend was an actor’s choice.  Also I think he’d be perfect for the lead in “The John McCain Story”.) debated the sexiness of 80’s hair (I find it more of a turn on than Jake but that’s only because I was a teenager then and that’s what imprinted on me in puberty.  Which also explains my spandex…wait, I think I’ve shared too much.)
and generally marveled at the grizzled awesomeness that is Sam Elliott.
After that, we headed down to The Comedy Underground for the Open Mike.  While there, I managed to get video of a couple of Jake’s stand up buddies Derek Sheen And Travis Simmons (A.K.A. The Big Funny.).
And the the show started.
And I found out I was third in the running order.
And then I went up and did mostly good.
The mostly modifier is there because I slipped up on the phrasing of  a line and started homina-homing like a drunk Jackie Gleason.
Seriously, I came this close to speaking in tongues like a pentecostal snake handler. Finally, I managed to dig out my paper and finish the line.  However, I ate so much of my time,  I wound up unable to do my big finish.
The good news is (And I think the footage will bear that out.) that the audience was on my side by the time I got to that point.  And I was able to end on a strong laugh line.
I’m happy to say that the rest of the show had a much stronger line up than last time and that there was one one truly awful.  Although there was this one Pakistani guy who I’m convinced had smoked what the kids like to call “a fatty” before going up on stage.  Because he spent his three minutes talking about foreskins and why they shouldn’t removed.  Seriously, I’m just sorry I didn’t get any footage of this guy because it was probably as close to Patton Oswalt’s famed  “Dr. Pepper” as I will ever see.
Anyway, good set.  And Jake and I made plans to come back the next night and try again.

MONDAY: Didn’t go out because we were both too tired and instead, stayed in and tried to watch “The American Astronaut” but I zonked out after fifteen minutes.  Liked what I saw and will try it again one of these days.

More Later.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in comedy, Jake Merriman, Seattle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

