"Iron Man 2"

My Thirteen Year Old Self: IRON MAN!  EXPLOSIONS!  SCARLETT JOHANSSON’S BOOBIES!

My slightly more sophisticated film fan:  Jon Favreau manages the neat trick of delivering all the mandatory beats of a summer blockbuster while letting his cast roam through it like free range chickens.  Robert Downey Jr. continues to find new ways to make narcissism seductive.  Gwyneth Paltrow continues to channel her inner Rosaline Russell.  And Mickey Rourke has turned his late in life transformation into Charles Bronson to his advantage.  Bonus geek points to Sam Jackson for giving us just enough Nick Fury to make us start drooling for “The Avengers”.  And of course, Scarlett Johansson in a catsuit just makes us start drooling.

My Killjoy Progressive’s side: Yes, the film is well made.  But do we need another summer blockbuster that celebrates the existence of the Military Industrial complex at a time when it’s bleeding our country dry…

My slightly more sophisticated film fan: Oh, for the love of Christ!  It’s a comic book movie!  And beside, Tony Stark is trying to wean his company away from military applications.

My Killjoy Progressive’s side: But the film still takes an unhealthy fascination with weaponry and destruction…

My slightly more sophisticated film fan:  Hey, did you like the action?

My Killjoy Progressive’s side: Uh, yeah.

My slightly more sophisticated film fan: And did you dig ScarJo in the catsuit?

My Killjoy Progressive’s side: Oh, yeah.  I had no philosophical objections to that.

My slightly more sophisticated film fan: Then just chill out and keep the good fight out of the movie theater. Okay?

My Thirteen Year Old Self: BOOBIES!  BOOBIES!  BOOBIES!

My slightly more sophisticated film fan: Someone stop feeding that kid sugar, please.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in The Geekness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

