In the bubble, waiting for the needle.

Via, the Huffington Post:

VENICE, La. — A sense of doom settled over the American coastline from Louisiana to Florida on Saturday as a massive oil slick spewing from a ruptured well kept growing, and experts warned that an uncontrolled gusher could create a nightmare scenario if the Gulf Stream carries it toward the Atlantic.

(Snip.)

Oil industry experts and officials are reluctant to describe what, exactly, a worst-case scenario would look like – but if the oil gets into the Gulf Stream and carries it to the beaches of Florida, it stands to be an environmental and economic disaster of epic proportions.
The Deepwater Horizon well is at the end of one branch of the Gulf Stream, the famed warm-water current that flows from the Gulf of Mexico to the North Atlantic. Several experts said that if the oil enters the stream, it would flow around the southern tip of Florida and up the eastern seaboard.
“It will be on the East Coast of Florida in almost no time,” Graber said. “I don’t think we can prevent that. It’s more of a question of when rather than if.”
At the joint command center run by the government and BP near New Orleans, a Coast Guard spokesman maintained Saturday that the leakage remained around 5,000 barrels, or 200,000 gallons, per day.

     Today was a good day here in Ashland.  Sunny, warm without being too hot.  I had the day off so I fixed myself a nice big lunch.  Read my mail, (One junk, one from Sallie Mae about my student loans.)  Finished watching the long International cut of John Woo’s “Red Cliff”. (His best film in years, by the way. )  And I write this in my comfortable studio apartment, I am eating a lovely bowl of Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough.
     And yet, my chest is tighter than a Party Girl’s looking to get screwed dress because I know that I am on a planet inhabited by short sighted shaved monkeys who care more about the shiny rocks in their pockets than taking care of the only home they have, this Earth.
      And although I am far from the actual site of devastation, I know that this event is just another nail in my home’s coffin.
     I am in a comfortable room but I do not feel safe.  I feel trapped.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in The Earth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

