RANDOM NOTES 10-04-09

Really, Sen Baucus?  REALLY?!!

So, let me see if I have this straight.
Not only are you prepared to fine people for not buying insurance, you are now prepared to send them to jail if they fail to buy the non regulated, non price controlled by a public option, insurance?
Quick question?  When you read Dickens “Oliver Twist” in college, were you rooting for Oliver to die in a ditch?
By the way, Baucus’ number in Washington is (202) 224-2651.  Let’s give him a call tomorrow and let him know what you think of this.  Be firm but don’t make the secertary cry.  It’s not their fault their boss is a weasel.

-On the plus side, it looks like Progressives are prepared to take the fight to Harry Reid!

Major progressive organizations see a golden opportunity to resurrect the public option, and are preparing a campaign, which will include television ads in Nevada, to pressure Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid to get on board.

“If Harry Reid does not have the leadership skills to get 60 votes for cloture and give a Democratic president an up-or-down vote on health care, progressives will help defeat him in 2010, even if that means Republicans take that seat,” said the head of one progressive organization, who’s still working out the detail of the campaign. “There is no use for Reid’s vote if 60 Democratic votes means nothing on cloture, and no use for Reid’s leadership if his leadership is so blatantly ineffective.”
That might not be such a troubling threat if Reid, who’s up for re-election in 2010, wasn’t suffering at the polls. 

Ah, yes.  Let’s take a look at a recent poll.

Research 2000 for Daily Kos. 8/31-9-2. Likely voters. MoE 4% (11/23-25/08 results)

Harry Reid (D) 40
Danny Tarkanian (R) 45

Harry Reid (D) 41
Sue Lowden (R) 44

Woah. When we last polled this in November of last year, we matched up Reid against Rep. Jon Porter, and Reid led 46-40. Now he’s up against these no-names, and is losing. These numbers confirm recent results from Mason-Dixon.
Who are those Republicans? Tarkanian is an old UNLV basketball star who now sells real estate. Lowden is the chairwoman of the state GOP. Literally no-names. And yet Reid is lagging both. So is the health care debate hurting him at home?

I’ll go out on a limb and say yes.
Look folks, no one said this was going to be easy.  And I’m the first to admit that I wasn’t expecting it to be this tough.  But we need to keep punching away at it.  I’m calling my Senators tomorrow to make sure that they keep that clause out of the final bill.  Please do the same

-Note to Democrats.  You see what Rep. Alan Grayson is doing here?

This is the kind of center punching we need to be doing on a daily Goddamn basis!!  After being hit for months on Death Panels and the like, it’s about time we gave them a taste of their own medicine!  By the way, his Twitter feed is @Alan_Grayson.  Follow him up and let him know you have his back.

-By the way, guess who has a birthday this week?
ME!
That’s right, this Tuesday, I turn 44 years old.  I expect the reactions to that news to run the gambit from “My God, he looks good for his age” to “Wow, how does that fat fuck stay alive”.  The irony being that the latter group are probably Rush Limbaugh fans.  And while I do have an Amazon wish list in the sidebar, I would prefer if you gave to this…

ALL I WANT FOR MY BIRTHDAY IS A SHINY CLEAN PLANET!

I’m 190 dollars from my goal and I’d rather have the karma than a new kindle.  Come on, guys.  Don’t make me look like an A-Hole.

-Speaking of Karma, Joel Watson over at HijiNKS Ensue had to get a blood patch for his lumbar puncture this past week.  He’s looking at three grand in bills and could use the extra scratch.  I did my bit with a Laura Rosin for 08 t-shirt.  If you can spare some pretty polly, you’d be doing him a solid.

-For those of you interested, I will be in Seattle next week for my yearly vacation.  Specifically, I’m going to the Comedy Underground for Open Mike night.
Even more specifically I will be attempting to throw down three minutes of comedy.  It’s been years since I’ve attempted to do stand up but I’m willing to give it a shot.  Besides, what is a vacation if not the opportunity to do things you can’t do at home.
And just a reminder, I will be blogging, tweeting and YouTubeing the entire trip.  Because that’s how I roll in the new internet age, bitches!   If you see me out and about, rocking a geeky t-shirt, feel free to shout out!

That’s all for now.  More later.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in Alan Grayson, comedy, Harry Reid, Health Care, Max Baucus, Seattle, The Geekness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

