Yeah, nice speech…but…

Yeah, I’m heartened by his remarks.  Yeah, I’m glad he’s saying that he’s for a public option.  And I’m really glad that he said it in front of a bunch of union guys who will be very cheesed off if Obama doesn’t deliver it.
But still, talking ain’t doing.  And it’s not enough for Obama to say this…

And I continue to believe that a public option within the basket of insurance choices would help improve quality and bring down costs.

Yeah, and I continue to believe that a three way with Anne Hathaway and Natalie Portman would be totally awesome.  That doesn’t mean it’s gonna happen.
On Wednesday, Obama is going to have seal the deal with a veto threat and let the Republicans and Blue Dogs know that we are done screwing around.  Anything less and we’re back to square one.
Which means we’re stuck with the same broken Health Care system we have now. 
Which means even people with insurance can still be bankrupted by medical bills.
And on a more personal note, it means when I go to Seattle in October for my yearly vacation, I’m going to have to hear my buddy, Jake Merriman, who was a Hillary supporter, pepper me with “I told you so’s” for the entire Goddamn week!

Seriously, Obama.  I hope you remember that the key to rope-a-dope is that in the end, you still have to hit somebody.

About theragingcelt

Actor/Writer/Homegrown Pundit/Cranky Progressive/Sometimes Filmmaker. talesofthegeeknation.com
This entry was posted in Health Care, Politics, President Barack Obama. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

